Museum Depot

The Museum Depot at Acton holds the majority of the Museum's collections which are not on display in the main Museum in Covent Garden. It opens to the public for special events, including themed open weekends and guided tours.

The Depot houses over 320,000 items of all types, including many original works of art used for the Museum's celebrated poster collection, vehicles, signs, models, photographs, engineering drawings and uniforms. Together these form one of the most comprehensive and important records of urban transport anywhere in the world.

The Depot's main purpose is to act as a working museum store. It provides 6000 square metres of storage space in secure, environmentally controlled conditions. Here our curators and volunteers work to catalogue and conserve objects to preserve our heritage for future generations.

Getting here

Our address is:

London Transport Museum Depot
118-120 Gunnersbury Lane
Acton Town
London
W3 9BQ

By Underground

The closest Underground station is Acton Town (2 mins).

Journey

By Bus

The closest bus stops to the Museum Depot are Gunnersbury Lane (Acton Town station) 70 or E3.

Get bus countdown information from Transport for London >

By Car

There is no parking available at the Depot, except for disabled badge holders.

shop mini lightbox

Shop

New mini lightbox

Our fan-favourite London Underground roundel lightbox just got a new younger sibling. This cute smaller version is just 7 inches tall and comes with three interchangeable inserts. Exclusively available at our shop!

Shop now

event chx afternoon tea

What's On

Tour and a treat

Treat yourself to an day out with our newest Hidden London package - discover the abandoned Jubilee line platforms under Charing Cross station before a delicious afternoon tea at the Amba hotel.

Book tickets

collection district plaque

Collections

Object of the Month

This plaque was awarded to the winner of the District Railway station garden competition in 1916, a competition to recognise staff who enhanced stations with plants. It was dug up by a signalman in 1948.

Discover more